FRArt Rethinking the body of the piano and its vibration: extended pedal for new intra-piano playing

1. introduction

  • type: Article
  • ref: DOC.2021.175

The project aims to bridge a gap between the investigations of new intra-piano playing possibilities (started in the 1920s) and the evolution of the piano pedal system - still without any possibilities of control or activation beyond the traditional keyboard position. This project will develop an extended pedal system allowing precise control of the string dampers beyond the conventional keyboard configuration. The device is a physical extension that is "grafted" to the piano. It allows activating to the sustain pedal “remotely” i.e. from the sides and back of the piano.
The remote-control possibilities will considerably extend contemporary piano techniques possibilities and create new avenues for composition fostering a new repertoire and new sound explorations. The renewed access to the pedal and the reworked finesse of control allow envisaging new sound worlds and notation systems and revisiting a rich repertoire of existing pieces. The prospective effort will therefore be coupled with a retrospective insight into the development of the piano, whose construction has remained largely unchanged for the last 130 years, and on the key role of composition in the dissemination of new instrumental approaches.
To develop this project, a triple interaction between composition, test-performance and design-fabrication will be put in place. In addition to our practice as a composer-researcher and our numerous works on the new possibilities of the piano, the research stems from a series of experimental works (2019-2020) which have led to the development of a prototype. Four pieces will be composed in constant dialogue with six performers and two instrument builders. They will nourish the different phases of development of the extended pedal. The premiere of the pieces and demonstration of the new instrumental possibilities will be showcased through a series of concerts and seminars at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels and partner institutions.

FRArt Repenser le corps du piano et sa vibration : pédale étendue pour un nouveau jeu intra-piano

1. introduction

  • type: Article
  • ref: DOC.2021.175

Le projet vise à combler un vide entre les recherches de nouvelles possibilités de jeux intra-piano initiées dès les années 1920 et l’évolution du système de pédale, toujours sans possibilités d’action et de contrôle hors de la position traditionnelle « au clavier ». Ce projet est le développement d’un système de pédale étendue permettant le contrôle précis des étouffoirs du piano au-delà du clavier. Le dispositif est une extension physique qui se « greffe » au piano permettant l’accès à la pédale forte (pédale de droite) à distance.

Les possibilités de contrôle des étouffoirs à distance élargiront considérablement le jeu pianistique contemporain et créeront de nouvelles pistes de composition, favorisant la naissance d’un nouveau répertoire résolument orienté vers de nouvelles explorations. Les nouveaux accès et la finesse de contrôle ré-élaborée permettront d’envisager de nouveaux objets sonores et systèmes d’écriture, mais aussi de revisiter un riche répertoire existant. Cet effort prospectif sera donc mêlé à un regard rétrospectif sur le développement du piano, dont la facture reste pratiquement inchangée depuis 130 ans, et sur le rôle-clé de la composition dans la diffusion de nouvelles approches instrumentale.
Pour développer ce projet, une triple interaction entre composition, test-interprétation et design-construction sera mise en place. Outre notre propre pratique de compositeur-chercheur et nombreux travaux sur les nouvelles possibilités du piano, la recherche s’appuie sur une série de travaux expérimentaux (2019-2020) qui ont menés à la conception d’un premier prototype et plusieurs créations. Quatre œuvres composées en dialogue constant avec des pianistes, interprètes et fabricants nourriront les différentes phases de développement de la pédale étendue. La création des œuvres et diffusion de la recherche sera valorisée par un à travers une série de concerts/séminaires au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles et institutions partenaires.